Work Like You’re A Christian


20120913-180636.jpg

Ephesians 2:10
“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them”

Whenever you do well in life, there will always be people that are happy for you, people that are envious of you, and others that will be cynical of you and your accomplishments; those that beat you down so they don’t feel so bad about not being chosen for the task you’ve been privelaged with.

I just left a business meeting this morning that called together all 3 of our districts (roughly 56 people) here in Colorado to communicate one main message: “we must get better.”

As a company, as a team, and as individuals, we must get better at what we do.

Some of you know, I recently applied for a different position within my company and by the grace of God, out of about 12 other candidates, I was chosen for this job. On this particular day, however, since everyone within our region was gathered in one place, I came face to face with those 12 other people that applied for the position I was given. One fellow has only worked for our company for ten months. Another has poured 25 years into this industry and yet, was not chosen for the role I am now taking on.

I was met with 3 kinds of greetings this morning:

1. Congratulatory

-“well done man! Hey, what do you think sealed the deal? How can I get better? Any advice?”

2. Bitter Jealousy

– “hey…heard you got it…I’m going to be honest, I’m really hacked off…doesn’t make any sense to me, I know you do good work and you have been here 6 years but…yeah….its whatever.”

3. Cynical Rage

– “way to go on the promotion. well, I applied but, I’m glad I didn’t get it. Sounds like its going to be a lot of hard work and now they’re making a ton of changes on that side of the business….haha…I mean, good luck….you’re gonna need it!”

To the second respondant, I told him not to be so down on himself because I had an unfair advantage…I prayed…a lot.

I wasn’t praying “sun stand still prayers,” and I wasn’t asking God to deliver the position into my awaiting and faithful hands because I deserved to invade the land of sugar and water. My prayer was for peace and trust. At the end of the day, I knew that if I went in there and did my best, that’s all God ever requires of us as Christians in the workplace.

Col 3:23-24
“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.”

Although I prepared for my inertview for over a week, compiled statistics, polls, and market research to use in my presentation, and came up with an intuitive business plan, if God had not prepared that position for me beforehand, I would not have gotten the job. On the other side, if God does prepare something for you in advance, then its simply up to you to follow through and do your absolute best so that HE receives all glory, honor, and praise.

As believers, we truly have no reason to be nervous or anxious in anything we do unless we don’t fully trust God or if our anxiety is centered around something that will ultimately be done to glorify ourselves and not Him.

I believe however, those who are successful in business/ministry are in grave danger of glorifying themselves in their success. When successful people begin to admire how well they’ve done, in whatever it is they do and really take in the inevitable praise from men, it is a very short distance from the place of glorifying God in all things and glorifying yourself instead.

“He will render to each one according to his works: to those who by patience in well-doing seek for glory and honor and immortality, he will give eternal life; but for those who are self-seeking and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, there will be wrath and fury.” (Romans 2:6-8 ESV)

I pray that no matter how much God blesses me in work or in ministry that I never lose sight of Who prepared the way and why that way was set up…so that I can give all glory, honor, and praise unto God.

“What shall I render to the Lord
for all his benefits to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation
and call on the name of the Lord,
I will pay my vows to the Lord
in the presence of all his people.” (Psalm 116:12-14 ESV)

Work as unto God so that when He blesses you with promotions, raises, and “benefits,” those outside the faith will stand in amazement of our God and give glory to Him as you Glorify Him rather than yourself.

Chime In

